Simplicity – Small & Cheap

Living simply & cheaply…wherever you are!

Publix Nibbles

publixlogo

So I finally found out what happens if you are assertive enough to point out that they charged you a price different from the sign.

I went to Publix yesterday to get bananas and some bagels for breakfast.   Sign said $2.99 / bag for bagels.   Check out listed them as $3.99.    Guy did some digging and saw the sign was left out from last weeks sale.    I got one free and the other two at the old sale price.  Neat!

Today, however, I had some major luck.   I was actually able to do a shopping trip EXACTLY as I planned it before I left.   They had everything I wanted and used all the coupons right.   I bought:

4 Pillsbury Pizza Dough Tubes, 6 Crescent Roll Tubes and 5 Garlic Breadstick Tubes.   All on sale for 3/$5.00.    15 items @ 3/$5 = $25.00.   Plus I used coupons — a $0.75/3 blinkie (collected a week or two ago before the box emptied), a $0.60/2 IP from the Pillsbury newsletter site, (4) $0.40/1 pizza dough, and (6) $0.25/1 Crescent Roll’s = $4.45 in Q’s.   PLUS there was a mail-in form in a Sunday insert a few weeks back where if you bought 15 participating items IN ONE TRIP from Publix, you get a $10 Publix Gift Card.    SO:   $25.00 on sale – $10 MIR – $4.45 MFG Q = $10.55 for 15.   Avg of $0.71 each.   Not bad for stuff that normally costs $2.50 each!!!

I also had some Q’s from my Baby Club new member packet that I used today.     They had the large refill packs of Huggies Wipes on sale for $5.99 and I got a $1.50 Store Q = $4.49.

AND Huggies Baby Soap was BOGO AND I had a BOGO Store Q so I got 2 for FREE!!!

And, not quite as cool, I needed some cheese for all the pizzas we will be making 🙂 – Sargento – 2/$4 – $0.50/2Q = 2/$3.50.   Not great, but not bad.

Total regular price – $60.43

Total Sale Price – $38.28

Total Coupons – $9.74

Total OOP – $28.54

Total MIR – $10.00

Trip Cost – $18.54

Savings – 69%!!

I think that’s my personal grocery store best!

February 19, 2009 Posted by | coupon craziness, grocery shopping | , , | Leave a comment

Coupon Craziness 5.75

I think this is the last CVS/Walgreen’s trip this week.

I went to CVS yesterday because the Suave coupons were finally found/printed for the CVS deal, thanks to Money Saving Mom.

I got 3 suave body washes for $2 each = $6.00 – (2) $1/1 IP. = $4.00 – $2 ECB’s = $2/3 ($0.67 each)

It could work better if you got 3 $1/1 Q’s to print, but I couldn’t make that work.   $0.67 was still good enough for me to do it.

BUT I had to go annoy a manager to make it happen.   The signs and ad say $2.00 each.   They so graciously offered me a $0.01 discount on each bottle.  They rang up at $1.99 instead of $2.00.   Thus making me $0.03 short of getting my $2 ECB.   So I had to go in today to make them fix it.   I wasn’t feeling terribly assertive yesterday until I got back and then my bro talked me off the ledge before I had a chance to call the Cape Coral Hospital and try to make them adjust their nonsense.

But it’s been fixed.

Total Regular Price – $8.37

Total Sale Price – $6.00

Total Coupons Used – $2.00

Total P.E. ECB’s Used – $4.00

Total OOP – NONE!!

Total ECB’s earned – $2.00

Total Trip Cost – $2.00

Savings – 76%!!

February 19, 2009 Posted by | coupon craziness | , | Leave a comment

Coupon Craziness 5.5

Let me just start off by saying I HATE Florida pricing laws. I never realized it was different until I left Michigan. In Michigan you are required to put a price on EVERY item (except 25 or something like that). And if you are charged the wrong price, you have to fix it and then some.

In Florida, nothing is labeled. And it’s probably on the wrong hanger or over the wrong shelf tag. And the stores never put up their sale taggies in front of the items or take their sweet @$$ time doing it. It’s enough to make me go batty!!!

Okay, rant over. Today was a mixed bag.

First, I went to Publix. The Grocery Game (referral info: jensteed.08 at gmail dot com) had listed a great deal on Cover Girl lip gloss for $0.75 each. My Publix, however, doesn’t carry cosmetics. Talk about moving from Podunk to Podunk South.

Then I went to CVS.

I fared a little better there. I bought:

Huggies Wipes – 2/$5, less a $0.50/1Q = $2.00

Huggies Baby Soap -2/$5, less a $1.00/1Q = $1.50

Crest Pro-Health Mouthwash – $3.99 – $0.75/1Q – $1ECB = $2.24

Kotex Long Pantyliners (16ct) – $1.49 – $1.49/CRT = FREE!

Stinky Foot Powder Spray – $4.99

And finally, the basis of my rant, 12 Hershey Bars, 50% off for Valentines day. I THOUGHT I heard someone say they rang up at $0.25 yesterday, but what they SAID was $0.75. When I got out to the car and looked at the receipt and found out they were 3 times more than I thought, I couldn’t decide whether to take them back or not. $0.75 a bar? That’s almost full price! 50% off my butt!! Then in my pissivity, I opened one and started chowing away. They are a LOT bigger than normal. These bars were 3.5 oz each; normal bars are 1.45 oz. So I kept them :).

Total Regular Price – $44.59

Total Sale Price – $27.47

Less Coupons Used – $3.74

Total OOP – $23.73

Less ECB’s Earned – $22.73

Savings – 50%

I also made a quick stop at the WinnDixie. I don’t like it as much as the Publix (it’s dirty), but they have better sales. The Grocery Game also pointed out this deal that I got:

2 boxes of Kellogg’s Corn Flakes (12 oz) – on sale for $1.77 each – $1.50/2Q = $1.02/box.

Total Regular Price – $6.58

Total Sale Price – $3.54

Less Coupons – $1.50

Total OOP – $2.04

Savings – 69%

February 19, 2009 Posted by | coupon craziness | , , , , , | Leave a comment